Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluedawn_gw

Favorite salvia

BlueDawn
18 years ago

OK. I am new to Salvias but I bought 3 little baby plants a couple of months ago and they are already about 3 feet tall and blooming. They are purple with white on them. I love them. Just wondering if all you salvia people can tell me what your favorites are and if you have any pictures. I want to grow some more! Thanks.

Comments (17)

• robinmi_gw
    18 years ago

It sounds like you have Salvia leucantha.

If you want to see over 200 pictures of Salvias, have a look at www.robinssalvias.com .

Robin.

• BlueDawn
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Robin, couldn't get onto the site. Just a picture of a red salvia.

• helena_z8_ms
    18 years ago

After going to the library to get to see Robins site, I found a way to get to the site at my computer by typing http://www.robinssalvias.com/gallery1.htm
    Hope it works for you and enjoy.

Helena

• robinmi_gw
    18 years ago

You need java script, then you will see everything.

Robin.

• penny1947
    18 years ago

I have to say that my all time favorite is Salvia Guaranitica Black & Blue. I just love the contrast of the deep cobalt blue flowers against all the shades of red, pink, yellow and orange flowers in my yard. Another one that I love is Salvia Blepharophyla 'Diablo' because the red is so intense. Then I would have to pick Salvia Leucantha and Wild Watermelon. Leucantha should do very well for you. I received mine as an offset from a friend who lives on the Alabama coast. I think I lost mine this past week when our temps went down to the high 20's. My wild watermelon and diable are the only two salvias that have survived our two freezing nights.

Penny

• ltcollins1949
    18 years ago

Here's an easy way to get to the site Helena & Robin gave us: Robin's Salvias. Great site Robin!