Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wardda_gw

Agastache propagation

wardda
17 years ago

Wintering over agastache cuttings has always been a trial, and I don't like witnessing such plant suffering. Has anyone tried digging and potting clumps in March and bringing them inside for an early start? I'm going to need a lot of well rooted starts by the third week in May and I can't think of another method to bring off the desired result.

Comments (19)

• hummersteve
    17 years ago

I have to say I havent tried the cuttings and I havent tried what you suggest either , what Im trying to do is winter sowing of seeds from my one plant from last summer and it is my first try but , who knows. I went to the winter sowing section and it is really quite easy to do and then it remains a waiting game to see if it does actually work

• wardda
    Original Author
    17 years ago

I had some success with sowing seeds in late winter. Rupestris came up easily with bottom heat but suffered quite a bit of damping off - 30 seedling became 5 or 6 at planting time. Agastache mearnsii was easier and didn't damp off nearly as badly. The problem is many of the best agastaches are hybrids and sowing seeds for them is a crap shoot. What does work is taking cuttings in late spring after the plants are growing. These will root by mid to late June and can be planted out for a late summer bloom.

I'll be interested to see how you make out with your seeds.

• rich_dufresne
    17 years ago

Some notes on Agastache propagation: Seed will come true only if there are no other forms around for it to hybridize with. Agastaches rival Origanum in their promiscuity.

Cuttings can be taken from spring and autumn basal growth, when the leaves are less linear and thin and more wide, cordate and with serrate/dentate margins. Fertilizing them at this time produces robust cutting material. Floral stems are very difficult to root.