Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mairzy_dotes

New to Sans

mairzy_dotes
20 years ago

Hi...I am new to aquiring a few of these interesting plants, and have been reading a bit here, and looking at the pics of them in the gallery. Do I understand correctly that they only bloom at night? Are they like night blooming cereous & you have to be quick to catch it?

I have had one for a few years on my patio (the most common one you see in the stores), but it has never bloomed that I know of. I didn't even think about them blooming until reading here. How old do they have to be before blooming?

Also, is the Parva one the best scented bloom? Thanks for any info about the blooming habits of these curious plants.

Comments (4)

• Cena
    20 years ago

Hi Marcy. I've only had one of my plants bloom, and it is the big old S. trifaciata. The picture of the one standing next to the broom. It has bloomed multiple times, since being in that blue pot. They like to be pot bound before they bloom, in my experience. I had this plant over 15 years before getting all the 'right' conditions together for it to bloom. I think I used to repot these too much, and give them loads of room, seperating them into many pots of a few leaves, rather than lumping them together for awhile.

If you look at a photo of a bloom stalk you can see multiple buds going up the length of the 'spike'. Each of those buds open at different times, multiples of them opening each evening, each bud lasting one day, but the total bloom event lasting about seven days.

I have only had the one variety bloom personally, so cannot comment on the scent of others. I found my plain old one to have a wonderful fragrance. I didn't even know it was blooming until tracking down where the smell was coming from. Surprise!!!

• jderosa
    20 years ago