Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
robinwv

Murdering My M-I-L Tongue

robinwv
18 years ago

I confess I am a murderer. I am killing my mother-in-law tongue. It is in a pot that once contained other plants (that I also killed!) - and am now wondering if the pot is too big. I let it get very dry throughout the winter and every summer move it to my east facing porch, where I do increase the water during the hot, dry summer months.

What am I doing wrong?

Comments (6)

• melissa_thefarm
    18 years ago

Okay, I'm a beginner too, but at least my plants are healthy. For what it's worth:
    Mother in Law's Tongues can stand incredible amounts of abuse, but perhaps it depends on the kind of abuse. And you can kill them with kindness. Important: what form is your MILT's slow death taking? Rotting at the base? Wilting leaves? Pest infestation? So: the temperature's not constantly chilly during the winter? (Heaven forbid letting it freeze.) The light level's not pitch darkness or anything near? The soil isn't heavy? I have mine in light soil, in the kitchen (not near a window, so meager indoor light), and water them about once a month, which seems to be about right. If temperature and light are within acceptable limits, then if they're rotting, I would guess too much water; if the leaves are wrinkling up, too little. They can get by with poor levels of nutrients, I believe, but the sansevieria nurseryman I asked told me that slow release fertilizer is good, and actually a good deal of water in the summer. The classic MILT likes light in summer when it's warm, but filtered, not direct: I have mine outdoors under a wisteria pergola, where they do well. I would think that a too-large pot wouldn't kill one, though it might not grow as you would like in that case: it might be healthy but not put out a lot of new shoots. Maybe.