Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wndy_gardenweb

Possibly Propagating a Pretty Potted Sans?

wndy_gardenweb
11 years ago

Hello all!

I am new to Gardenweb, and so I apologize in advance for any missteps I might make :-)

I have a Sans that I would like to repot/propagate. It is in the 8" black plastic pot that it came in when I bought it about two years ago. I'm unsure of the variety, but it's very common--dark green, thin, tall ( 2-3') leaves, with yellow on the outside. There are many rosettes in the pot; I count nine rosettes. There really isn't room in the pot for any more of them, which is my reason for repotting the plant.

I searched the Gardenweb forums to find information on propagating them by dividing the rhizome, as I didn't want to ask a question that's been asked over and over again (how tiresome!), but I didn't find a thread that addressed that method--they all seem to deal with propagation by leaf cuttings.

Anyhow, thank you for reading this far. The information I have gathered so far from all you lovely knowledgeable folk is:

- they need to be watered sparingly
- fast-draining soil is a must
- do not water right after repot/potting
- let any wounds heal before repot/first watering (let them callous over)
- no direct sun
- do not over pot / smallest pot possible for new plants

OK, so that is what I have learned so far. My questions that remain are...

1) I have a bag of perlite, and a bag of spaghnum moss (not peat moss, but actual whole moss in a bag). I have some "used" soil (miracle grow potting mix most likely, with probably some peat mixed in?) leftover from last year's outdoor growing. I also have been saving coffee grounds as a free soil filler. So I am wondering, what should I put the new plants in? Just perlite? Should I put a miracle grow cactus mix for the fertilizer? I'm really quite a newbie to this. Also, I'm not sure what kind of pot to use (other than one with lots of holes at the bottom). Does it matter?