Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
djliquidice

Each new cutting in it's own pot?

djliquidice
10 years ago

Hello members. Question I can't find a straight answer on: I have just started a leaf cutting from my main Sansevieria plant. I divided a leaf into 4 pieces to attempt their own rooting. My question is, if each piece successfully roots and starts a new pup, should I then replant each new plant in it's own pot in hopes that it eventually splits off like my main mother plant?....or should I replant more than one piece in a pot?

Yes, I'm brand new to this, but it's already consuming all internet activity I spend online, I'm obsessed!!!

Comments (6)

• Michaela
    10 years ago

If you are successful with your cuttings, any new pups will very likely look like the normal trifasciata (i.e without the yellow margins). Some of your cuttings might have several pups. You can do whatever you want with any pups. If you want to fill a pot quickly you can keep them all in one pot, or you can make more than one new pot of plants.

• Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6
    10 years ago

As stated, you will loose that yellow edges in the new offspring. It takes a while (months) before you see any new gowth. I have done the same only because I had the leaves broke off and didn't want to throw away. I find it more rewarding to buy clearance items in the stores and nurse back to health. They should start appearing next month most areas. I've gotten a nice 4" pot full for about $3.
    Stush

• djliquidice
    Original Author
    10 years ago