Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cghpnd

just bought my 1st snake plant

cghpnd
11 years ago

Hey! I'm new to the plant thing. I just bought a snake plant from lowes. It is in the original pot. Should I transfer it to the one I bought for it or wait until its bigger?
Also it has cracks on the leaves which were already there, I did not do it.

What do I need to know about this plant? I should of done some research before I bought it...

Does it produce babies like the spider plant? (I have one of those)

Does it have to be in a drainage pot?

Sorry so many questions.

Comments (14)

• cghpnd
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Does anyone know what this is popping out of the dirt ?

• brodyjames_gw
    11 years ago

Hi cgh,

That would be a pup (baby) popping up out of the dirt!

I would repot the plant now, into a pot with drainage holes, using a well draining medium like a 50/50 mix of cactus soil and perlite. Sansevieria can be pretty slow growing, and they are pretty tough, so I would just do it now.

When you water, water until you see water coming out the bottom of the pot, then don't water again until your finger, when stuck into the "soil" comes out dry. Do NOT water it immediately after the repot...wait a week or two.

The cracks on the leaves will scar over and will not harm the plant, but they will leave the leaf blemished. Nothing you can do about that until the plant sheds those leaves. You can trim the leaves, but they will only grow taller; they WON'T grow back into the pointed shape they are now.

Sans can take a light range from very bright, indirect light to very shady, although they generally prefer to be somewhere in the middle.