Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cghpnd

what is this

cghpnd
11 years ago

Hey yall. I am curious to know what this white stuff is on my plant. I did not notice until yesterday when i was watering it..

Comments (15)

• Laura Robichaud
    11 years ago

It looks like hard water marks to me.

• Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6
    11 years ago

If you can help it. Water from the bottom of the pot. Or let the water drain thru and out the bottom and try to leave the leaves dry. I have heard that milk on a towel will wipe off the discolors on the leaves and leave them shiny. Don't know this for sure.

• cghpnd
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Im new to all this plat stuff.. I just bought it last week, havent watered it yet.

It comes off if i wet it.

• Michaela
    11 years ago

Could it be mealie bugs?. Does it leave a streak if you smash it? If not living, it is probably just hard water residue from a previous grower. It is harmless, although unsightly.

• cghpnd
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Mealie bugs, what the heck is that? I used a damp rag to remove the white stuff and its gone, I did not notice anything that can be smashed..

11 years ago

I don't think this is mealy bugs. looks like hard water or most likely it was water over the top with fertilizer mix. If it wiped off. Just check to see if it returns or any spots get bigger. Mealy bugs are about the size of a pin head, fluffy and can be smashed. But use a Q-tip and alcohol is better.
    Stush

• cghpnd
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Just an update on the plant. I cleaned every single one and also repotted with 50/50 cactus mix and perlite. The white stuff hasnt come back so I think it was just what y'all said, hard water marks.

Should they be watered with rain water? I have a few buckets of that from yesterday's rain. Also how long should I wait to water it since I just repotted it.

11 years ago