Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
crazytbone

ideal sans conditions

crazytbone
13 years ago

Hi,

I have just recently started to become active on these forums. I am a teacher, and I have a window sill full of a wide variety of plants, including a mother-in-laws tongue and a bird's nest sans. The bird's nest has shot out LOTS of babies, and I'm going to have to do something with it soon.

I've been reviewing many posts in this forum, and have been unable to find the answer to my question. What soil would be ideal for my sans? I understand that sans will survive in almost anything, but I want mine to thrive. Right now they are living in some kind of soil, probably peat-based potting soil. I have a supply of gritty mix (based on Al's recipe) on hand.

Thank you

Al

Comments (9)

• norma_2006
    13 years ago

You need a fast draining soil, with perlite, or pumice as the base, then add 30% coarse washed construction sand and another 10% orchid mix, or red wood bark.

Your plant will need the same temperatures that you need to live. It will need water when dry but not completly dried out, like once a week in the Summer, and fertilizer once a month in the summer. It needs to be groomed and kept clean and you need to be it's doctor, all San. are not equal, just like your students. It needs sun, and air circulation just like you. When it out grows it pot it will break it, so each year repot the plants and give it some leg room. Take out any growth that has flowered that growth will not flower again, save it then plant. it will make new offsets for you to give away, or trade. I listed here the 5 componets that will give your plant a chance to thrive. Grow Semi-Shade-some light so it will flower, and photosynthense food for engery. These plants are known to release oxygen for us to breath. Norma

• crazytbone
    Original Author
    13 years ago