Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenjude

Basic watering question

greenjude
17 years ago

How do I know when my Moonglow needs water? I have it in a clay pot in mostly-cactus potting mix. I'm terrified of overwatering. (I don't know succulents at all, and I think my aloe is dying.) Will it give me a sign? (LOL, my peace lily is so good that way...!)

Thanks,

Jude

Comments (9)

• dufflebag2002
    17 years ago

Start watering very thoroughly as soon as the night time temps don't go below 55F, Fertilizing will give you better plants, (stronger healther plants , more offsets, more flowers, which is only on new growth) I have been growing this species since 1978, getting my first one from the Vincent Price estate. I really didn't know which one I had at that time. It was taken from a leaf cutting. Norma

• greenjude
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks...but how do I know when to water? As soon as the soil is dry all the way down? I thought they liked to be dry?

• pirate_girl
    17 years ago

Hi Greenjude,

OK, slow down a bit, you needn't be terrified, it's much easier to kill them from overwatering rather than under, so it's best to water them less often & err on the safer side.

But there's no great urgency, I'd just given them one good watering when you're sure it's dry all the way down the mix. Then watch & wait, observing how quickly it'll dry out in your conditions.

If you don't water it for a while, it won't be harmful to the plant, they DO have their own water reserves for a while 'cause they're succulents.

In the meantime, you can take a bit of time to read different forums here abt the different kinds of plants you've just gotten & the care they'll prefer.

• greenjude
    Original Author
    17 years ago

LOL Pirate Girl, that's all I do, read about the different plants and the care they need!