Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jansy1985

Splitting and drying leaves, visible roots and

jansy1985
10 years ago

Hi Everyone,
I am new to Sansevieria (and house plants in general). I picked up a plant with 3 pups and a small bud in 6 inch pot earlier this week. I noticed that couple of leaves had deep gashes but I assumed they might have been damaged during move etc. The soil was slightly wet so I haven't watered it. It has been sitting near a floor lamp for about 8 hours a day. Now I am starting to notice more leaves splitting and dryness at the tips of leaves. Roots are also visible at the base of plant and there's lots of pressure against the sides of plastic pot it came in. I've also noticed the leaves are not as shiny and vibrant as they were in the store.
Does anyone know if this is a result of shock from too much light or do I need to re-pot? Is it possible that this plant is diseased? I'd really appreciate any suggestions to improve this plant's health.

Comments (8)

• Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6
    10 years ago

The plant is fine. The lights at the store make all the difference. They like well light areas and don't need direct sun. Sun at this time may burn the leaves. The soil they use is at it's peak and it is root bound. Needs repotted into a slightly larger pot. Not one that too big. Use fresh cactus mix soil. Keep warm,
    The more you check it over, the more nicks or scratches you may find. New leaves will come up and you can always remove the old ones if it brothers you. Wait until you have a lot of new leaves before removing old ones. Removing leaves will hurt the plant. I don't myself.
    Stush

• jansy1985
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks, Stush! Is it generally ok to just transfer the contents of store bought pot into a new one with additional soil around it? I'm wondering if that would minimize the risk of transplant shock since the plant is quite new to environment at my home already.

• pirate_girl
    10 years ago