Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bruingator

Dying Sans, revivable?

bruingator
13 years ago

Total newb to taking care of plants. I've read up on taking care of Sans before I bought one (the type that has yellow sides). And I know that I can't overwater it. However I left it outside and only watered it once a week but not enough to get the soil moist, so it looked like I might have underwatered it.

Now most of the leaves are wrinkly and slightly yellow tinted. Most of the leaves are also cracked along its length. There are plenty of brown spots in places. But the leaves are still stiff. I moved it indoors and moistened the entire pot of soil several days ago, but this hadn't seemed to help so far. Is there any possibility that it'll look healthy again?

Comments (10)

• tf.-drone
    13 years ago

Hi,

a photo would be helpful to tell... But it will take more than a few days for the plant to recover. The brown spots will stay, so you will have to wait for the new growth from below.

Helli

• bruingator
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Here are some photos... (maybe it's not dying but it doesn't look very healthy either as it looks a lot yellower than before and it's got cracks on several leaves)

{{gwi:1252349}}

I don't know what's this pink stuff here but it's only on one leaf. When I bought the plant there was some on there already, but I didn't notice until I got home.

{{gwi:1252350}}

Wrinkly leaves...

{{gwi:1252351}}

• tf.-drone
    13 years ago

Hi,

the plant looks a bit bruised, but otherwise fine. No need to worry, it is far from dying.

Does it sit in a single pot without drainage hole? If so, I would prefer to move it into a normal pot to avoid wet feet.

Helli

• bruingator
    Original Author
    13 years ago