Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cryptides

Dry snake plant?

cryptides
10 years ago

I'm new to gardening and I just bought a very small snake plant yesterday. I was reading up on it and heard that if the tips of the leaves are dry it won't grow. The tips of mine are a bit dry but not as much as the ones in the pictures and examples I've found so far, so I'm wondering if there's anything I can do still, or if they're already lost?
There's also a small offshoot/pup/whatever that might be healthier but has a tiny bit of dryness around the edges?
I've attached pictures of it all, hopefully a more experienced gardener will know what's going on!!
http://i.imgur.com/x7Y8doh.jpg (the worst one)
http://i.imgur.com/3nEMbuA.jpg (just the tip is dry?)
http://i.imgur.com/6bnjQMU.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/5sWhzQu.jpg (the pup?)
I hope I'm posting this correctly! Any help is greatly appreciated!

Comments (9)

• Michaela
    10 years ago

Hi Cryptides. Your pictures did not show up (at least on my screen). You need to click on the word "browse", and find your picture in your computer to get it to show up here. You will know if you did it right when you click "preview" as the picture will be there with your text before you click 'send'.

BUT, if your plants are obviously dry, you need to get then some water immediately! Sansevierias have rhizomes which store water for the plant, but there are limits to how much water they can store. If your plant was potted in a peat mix, like many are in stores and nurseries, and that mix is bone dry, you need to get that mix back to the moisture level of a well wrung out dishrag and let the roots and rhizome begin gathering moisture. Keep it out of any direct sun, but see that it gets good light.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago

Your links:

This leaf looks like it got bent.

Looks like something bumped into it hard enough to damage it.

Yes, a pup.