Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
woodnative

S. parva variegate....can I cut root the top?

woodnative
11 years ago

This BEAUTIFUL S. parva yellow variegate was GENEROUSLY sent to me a while back by a VERY GENEROUS GW member who also really knows how to grow Sans. This is also an unstable type of variegation.......the distribution of green and yellow on the new growth is near perfect. However, it is slow to pup, and all the new pups have been just a pale green/yellow (see the pup in the upper right of the photo). I am guessing the base of the plant, where the pups originate, is mostly green/yellow. Would it make sens to cut the top of this parva, and root it? The idea is that the new plant from the top would have a better chance of later throwing out pups that have more variegation. Opinions/input?

Comments (12)

• elichka
    11 years ago

Woodnative

Beautiful parva. Unfortunately I can't suggest you since I'm not experienced w/variegated sans.
    but I'd like to ask you if you decide to cut and root would you do it now or next year? does it make sense to root now? i remember you are in NJ, so we are neighbors, similar conditions.

Inna

• bonsaigai
    11 years ago

Opinion, I guess. It may have a better chance. I think I remember Norma saying that you need 2" of rhizome to insure variegation. I do think that you should wait until next spring as the temperatures now are going down for us up North. I am going to try a few things now, but I'm putting everything on heat mats.

Michael
    Interlaken, NY Z6

• Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6
    11 years ago

Woodnative,
    Do you have a warm spot at work. Maybe inside a 10 gallon fish tank over a warm heater vent. Just guessing but bottom heat in a controlled environment may get you a edge up next year.

• woodnative
    Original Author
    11 years ago