Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sabrina_n

HELP!! Soft base in one leaf of my Sans?

sabrina_n
9 years ago

Hi there!
I'm new to gardening and am currently growing a Sans. Potted about 2 weeks ago and watered generously. It's summer here, and i checked if the soil was dry with a stick and watered again today. However, while i was watering and cleaning the leaves of the Sans, one of the plants came off! It has a single leaf on it, the plant came off with no grown roots (i don't remember if i planted it that way, as in with no roots, probably not).

The base is soft and mushy, and there is a slight protrusion at that end. I am hoping and praying that the protrusion is a new root! I searched a lot for similar photos, but failed to find anything on it.

Please help! The leaf is really young and rather healthy! I feel so bad...

Comments (8)

• sabrina_n
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here are two more photos of the base... Help please :(

• Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6
    9 years ago

All that mushy stuff has to be cut off with a clean knife and wash the knife each time with an alcohol wipe. The cuts need to heal over for about a week then planted in stones or pumice. Kept out of the sun and in shade. In 3 to 6 months if they live that long, they will form roots. Only at that time, water lightly. You can lightly mist the stems daily. But I think your plant is a goner. Not worth all the effort to try to save. I have seen these plants on sale for about $4 or less at Wal-Marts or Big Box Stores.
    Stush

• plantomaniac08
    9 years ago

I am not sure if I read your post correctly, but anything mushy is a bad sign. Even if there was a root protruding at the base, the base of that leaf is dead for sure. It should be hard and "solid" feeling, that looks mushy and flimsy to me.

Do you have a picture of the entire plant in question?

Planto

• zzackey
    9 years ago