Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
solar_storm

S. concinna inflorescence

Solar_Storm
11 years ago

While caring for my sans this morning I thought you all might enjoy looking at another inflorescence. This one on S concinna. I have great success with the soft leafed sans, probably because I almost grow them standing in water. In fact my parva sit in water year around here in the Los Angeles area. I'll take and post another photo when the flowers appear.

Comments (24)

• barbmock
    11 years ago

Hi Solar Storm,

Your plant is beautiful! I really want to see how it looks when the flowers open.

Could you talk a little about how you grow the concinna and parva in water? Are you using the expanded clay stones? Liquid food?

I'm still a beginner and want to learn. Thanks!. Barb

• hermine
    11 years ago

This is a very LUSH plant. I live not far from you and I too sometimes grow certain of my Sansevierias in very moist and even jungle conditions. At one time I grew large numbers of gold hahnii with bottom watering via wick, and there was always water in the trays. I look forward to a photo of the flowers when they are fully open.

• Solar_Storm
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you for the compliments. I will post a photo when the buds open. I should add that I only put parva, dooneri and concinnia in standing water - never a variegated plant. In fact I admit I have killed every variegated sans I've had. That includes almost every known cultivar of the hahnii group. I think if I had a greenhouse or could grow them in the house, that I would have more success because I would water less. Those are fancy pebbles I sometimes use as top dressing. My mix is half pumice half nitrated fir bark. It drains quick and lasts a couple of years before the bark decomposes.

• barbmock
    11 years ago