Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nat_lia

Sansevieria ID and Care

nat_lia
10 years ago

Hi everyone :) I'm a newbie to Sans. I believe this is my 1st thread in Sans forum. My neighbor gave me two offsets (with roots), I re-potted both in plastic pots+ gritty mix. One pot on the left, it gets 3-4 hours direct morning sunlight about a foot from my east window. I need ID for both plants please. My neighbor said they came from the same mother plant.

Another Sans I bought last fall 2012. Is it Sansevieria ballyi 'Minnie'?

I got the 1st offset last month (July 1), 1st good watering was about 10 days after repotting (July11). The second watering was just yesterday (August 4). I realize that the first Sans I got (left pic below) has problem with its leaves. One of the leaf as you can see is curling out with crispy brown at one side. A smaller leaf of the same plant seems to show the same problem. Here are the pics (sorry the pics are too dark) :

{{gwi:1254477}}

Am I under- watering my Sans? the second offset I got just yesterday is perfectly healthy, no watering yet as I just re-potted today. What am I doing wrong? will the leaves recover? Thank you.

Natalia

Comments (4)

• barbmock
    10 years ago

Hi Bougainvillea,

Thanks for stopping over in the sans forum. I am no expert, but I'll give my opinion. Your first photo is a trifasciata, I can't be more specific. The second one does look like a Bally Minnie. I have this plant andI love it. It has put out 6 pups!

As far as watering, I think you are being way too cautious. You have sun on your plants and they must be warm at this time of year plus you have a very porous mix, so I would water at least every week in the summer, taper off in the winter to a couple of times a month. Sans are more like a tropical during the warm months and more like a succulent in the winter.

• nat_lia
    Original Author
    10 years ago