Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
artur0_gw

cylindrica rot

artur0
16 years ago

my cylindrica has developed lesions. has anyone else seen these?

id rather not chop it up, destroying the shape of the plant, which was the reason i got it. it appears a previous lesion scarred over, however the new ones are increasing in size and frequency. what could be a cause of this, and ar there any other options?

Here is a link that might be useful: rot pictures

Comments (6)

• flicker
    16 years ago

I am no expert but do grow sans.I have a few questions. Are you using a very light soil mix with no peat?
    Where do you grow this sans?
    Are the rot places soft to the touch?
    Have you unpotted this plant and looked at the rhizome?
    Worse senerio: If the rhizome is soft, probably too much water. Sans do not need much water at all. Pitch the plant.
    Hopeful:If the rhizome is hard, remove all dirt and soft spots, wash well,dry, let the rhizome dry out for a week.If the plant is rotted all the way to the rhizome, cut off the plant.
    Repot: I use 1 part perlite, 1 part vermiculate, 2 parts ground bark, and mix Osmacote into the mix. The pot should have very good drainage--I use pea graves in the bottom of the pot. This works for me in south Louisiana because we have such a hot and humid envitonment. It allows the soil to drain completely and dry out very dry between waterings.Cylindrica needs very bright indirect light, protection from a rainy environment, and high temps.
    Since your plant is already damaged, cut off the rotted areas until you see healthy tissue. Treat cuts with a fungicide. Put in med shade for a week to recover from shock. Then move to brighter, indirect light.
    Goal--To allow this damaged plant to bloom, then put out pups, which you can raise and shape perfectly as it grows.
    If this is not just too much watering, and actually a disease, do a search for diseases and treatments of sansevieria.
    Johanna

• artur0
    Original Author