Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dizzygreengirl_nc

Sickly Sansevieria Needs Help!

DizzyGreenGirl_NC
20 years ago

Hello everyone, this is my very first post, and my first Sansevieria, so forgive my ignorace on these matters. Today I purchased a poorly treated Sansevieria from Lowes. It was pushed in a corner and underneath (literally) several others. I've found red spot damage on at least one leaf, and several others are cracked. The cracks are greyish and reveal the fibery structure of the leaves. This is a rather large plant, so I considered seperating the healthy parts from the infected. However, since I have no experience in this matter, I wondered if this was the best solution? What can I do to save this poor plant? Any help would be appreciated!

Comments (8)

• Cena
    20 years ago

Actually, your poor plant will be fine! These are the marks that cold weather or just poor care inflict on these plants. They can look quite beat up, and near death. As long as the leaves have no wrinkling and are standing upright on their own, all you need to do is start good care.

This plant actually falls between the classifications of houseplant and succulent (stores water in thick leaves). Because of its almost succulent habits it really needs water about half as much as your other houseplants, especially if potted in a large pot. A smaller pot with several leaves in it can be watered on a regular houseplant schedule of once a week or so. Water well, and dump any water left in the catch pan.