Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mamarenea

soil not drying out!!

MamaRenea
20 years ago

I'm new to sans but I have 3 babies in a pot, S. Cylindrica, S. Trifurcate Hahnii (Birds nest), and one unknown, also have a dracena in this pot. I bought the "Scotts" brand C&S potting mix & plunked them in it....well, they are in an area with bright indirect light, I think the pot may be to big, and I might need to give them each their own space....My concern is that this soil has not dried out, what should I do for these guys before they start to rot on me??? I'm sure I should have added something to the mix......

Comments (7)

• Denise
    20 years ago

I would probably remove them, shake off all the soil and let them dry on a counter for a couple of days. Then I'd pot up individually in pots just a bit larger than their root ball. I would add some perlite or chicken grit or clay soil conditioner to the soil to make it drain faster. Good luck!

Denise in Omaha

• Cena
    20 years ago

Anything that adds texture to the soil AND DOES NOT RETAIN WATER is good. Folks sometimes add things like sand, well, because it is a succulent, and all succulents grow well in sand, Right??? Sand is NOT the answer. It often retains a LOT of water, compacts and add other problems too.

I mix my own soil, using cheapo Hyponex, cooked, crushed egg shells, lots of perlite, any pumice laying around, rocks, pea gravel, plastic bits of shatered pots, and odds and ends of just junk. Anything to allow that water to rush right on through.

I also have a collection of good sized rocks. Most sans are top heavy with long, tall foliage, and have teeny, tiny root systems. I pick a pot that is 'near' the size of the root ball, add in a great big ole rock on the bottom for ballast, fill in with dirt, pop the plant in, good to go.