Return to the Sansevieria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What type of sans do I have?

Posted by amany MI / 6 (My Page) on
Sun, Sep 16, 07 at 14:55

Hi.

I've had this sans for 5 months. I don't know what it is. Can anyone help?

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What type of sans do I have?

Sansevierias are not at all easy to ID. My guess would be parva. Go to www.wedshots.com and search sansevieria. Look at the jillions of sans pics on here. It MIGHT help.
What is it growing in? ANY soil?
Johanna

o

• Posted by amany MI / 6 (My Page) on
    Sun, Sep 16, 07 at 20:28

Hi Flicker!

I've been looking at the pictures on webshots and flickr.com on and off. I was hoping someone would know and I'd find out quicker. :-) I will keep looking though. Thanks.

It's growing in hydroton (clay pellets). I've been growing all my plants that way for about two months. Most in see through containers. Once they dry out completely, I add about an inch or so of water to the bottom. Below the roots. I let my sans and other sux remain dry longer than the other plants before adding more water.

o

That was my first guess, but there are no stolen on top of the soil, so my second guess is S. dooneri because by the width of the leaves. These are guesses, I'm not good without measurements, feeling and seeing the plant. It is beautifulluy displayed. Norma

o

• Posted by amany MI / 6 (My Page) on
    Tue, Sep 18, 07 at 15:02

Thanks ladies. My sans looks a lot like both the plants you suggested. lol I don't have a good eye for identifying sans. The leaves are about an inch wide and 8 - 9 inches long.