Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reiver_gw

Sansevieria kirkii superclone

reiver
16 years ago

I posted this earlier in the cactus & succulent section not realizing there is a sansevieria forum here (I am new to this site). Anyway I won this huge plant at a plant bingo game and not familiar with it, Sansevieria kirkii superclone. Could not find the previous owner. It is about 5 feet tall and a very thick leaf with a ridge running down it. I live in zone 8b and assume I must bring it in this winter. Would appreciate any info you can give me about its care.

"The best fertilizer for a plant is a gardener's shadow."

{{gwi:634947}}

Comments (8)

• melissa_thefarm
    16 years ago

I've heard of S. kirkii 'Superclone', have never seen it and know practically nothing about it, but I think you've become the owner of an AWESOME plant. I'm a beginner with Sansevierias. From my modest store of knowledge I can tell you the following: Sansevierias can't stand cold, and especially not chill together with wet; you should probably bring your 'Superclone' in when the temperature threatens to drop down to 50F, and you should keep it fairly dry now with autumn coming and temperatures descending from their summer high levels: protect it from rain. It needs to winter in the house. Sansevierias take to indoor life pretty well; they're known for their tolerance for low (indoor) levels of light, and for needing some shade outdoors in the summertime. However, I think that even Sans. appreciate a sunny window and bright rooms in the winter, though they may be able to get along without them. Cultural needs vary according to the variety, and I don't know S. kirkii and its cultivars: how much chill they can stand; how much light they welcome. I would err on the side of keeping it warm and dry. I suspect yours is a rather valuable plant.

Your 'Superclone' is beautiful. Good luck with it, and congratulations!

Melissa

• reiver
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Melissa,