Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marguerite_gw

A real beginner's question !

I suppose that is what this question is - one most people here know the answer to; I've only just been thinking now - is Sansevieria hahnii a dwarf trifasciata - I've been calling it S. trifasciata 'Hahnii' - or is that incorrect, and should it be Sansevieria hahnii, i.e. a different species? A couple of my books use both, confusing me totally.

Comments (5)

• lainielady
    20 years ago

Hi Marguerite,

I'm a real beginner, too. Recently I purchased B. Juan Chahinian's book "The Sansevieria Trifasciata Varieties" and it indicates the first dwarf cultivar and direct parent of most of the other dwarf varieties was discovered in New Orleans by W.W. Smith, Jr. and patented(No. 470 and was dated June 3, 1941) as an 'improved variety' of Sansevieria growing off a S. t. var. Laurentii. This was the beginning description of S. t. Hahnii and was in the section of the book "The Dwarf Varieties of Sansevieria Trifasciata" and this is also an abbreviated description of what was written there. There is a neat chart in the back of the book on the origin of the Hahnii varieties. Now if I could learn to identify what I see.........

Elaine

• marguerite_gw Zone 9a
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Thanks indeed to you, Elaine. That's exactly what I needed to know.

• jon_d
    20 years ago