Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stush49

What is variegation?

Question; Why does leaves produce variegation? I have talked to a hosta nursery owner in Ohio and he explained it this way. There are mainly 3 ways plants produce variegation in there leaves. 1 Chemical, 2 Radiation, 3 Old age.

#1 Chemical; a lot of toxins weaken the cell structure and most effects are only temporary. #2 Radiation; again breaks down the cell structure but also changes it's DNA component. Effects are more long lasting. #3. Just like us, as we age we tend to go gray. same as plants. A overgrown and old clumps is where you find off shoots of variegation. Known as sports. But what is known is that variegation while looks attractive, is actually a weaker poorer plant. mostly never achieving the potential of the mother plant it came from. Any thought about this? I am still learning. Any help/comments?

Comments (12)

• norma_2006
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm leaning also, so my ears just got bigger, I appreciate your input. I have been suspecious of this for many years, only the past 10-12 years as all San. developed variegated sports, this gave me the clue. Something is wrong here. I am so glad that you spoke up here. and gave an opiniion.

• Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Up date;
    After re-reading Hermine Stover's Book 'The Sansevieria Book' she mentions a virus also. It may be possible that some growers are injecting 'something' to make these so called sports. Unlike Sans. Tri~ laurentii which sports a yellow margin and is superior to trifasciata. At least mine is.
    How can I buy from a big box store at a cheap price a $40 plant for less than $5?? Mislabled as well. This has to drive nursery men carzy.
    Respectfully,
    Stush

• tf.-drone
    12 years ago

Hi,

"superior" is a highly subjective adjective. I find all variegated plants crippled and rather ugly, but that saves a lot of bucks.

Helli

Original Author