Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nanw_4wi

Blooms = death?

nanw_4wi
19 years ago

OK...I've been neglecting my Sans. studies lately.

I know I could research, but it's much easier to ask here.

So I have a stupid question.

One of my little Sans. (can't recall the name offhand - will get it tonite) has a bloom-stalk.

After this plant blooms, will it die?

It is quite a small plant and has no offsets.

Comments (11)

• biwako_of_abi
    19 years ago

I'm still new at sans, but I recall being told that they don't die. However, I also seem to recall reading that once a plant has bloomed, it doesn't grow anymore. I have two plants that bloomed recently, so I hope someone who knows more will post about this. Will sans that have bloomed still make offsets, even though their leaves do not grow anymore, or do they become completely arrested and just vegetate?

• birdsnestsoup
    19 years ago

Cause for celebration. Double celebration. First celebrate a spectacular & fragrant flowering. Then after the flower stalk has died down there will be life going on under the compost. The plant is making an offset (or even morethan one) & within a few months you'll have more cause for celebration as out pops an even bigger, better & more beautiful offset.

Life goes on. The Old one doesn't die right away & will take many years to die.

• nanw_4wi
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thank you!! Whew!

Yes, I have been celebrating the bloom stalk....and watching it daily, patiently .....!!

The plant is Sp. Lavranos & Bleck.

I'll take a photo when it blooms!

• emilio
    19 years ago

I can only add here that like some other plants a Sansevieria will not grow anymore after blooming, even dy. Buth after you got the new affsets it is still possible to take parts of the old plant to make leafcuttings for propagation. Hope to see your photos of the flowers soon.
    Here you will see one of a flowering stuckyi