Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beth95_gw

World's saddest sans?

beth95
10 years ago

I am just getting started with these wonderful plants, but I've jumped in with both feet!

A few weeks ago I rescued a beat-up jade dwarf sans from a flower vendor near my office. For three bucks, I figured it would be no great loss if the plant didn't make it. The poor thing really had been through the wars--mechanical damage, sunburn, a few spots that look like old insect bites. And the soil was soaking wet, too.

I set the plant on my desk near the window (northwest-ish) and let it dry out, then gave it just a little sip of water. And now it has a tiny pup. (On the right side--see?)

I have a few sansevierias at home that are in much better shape, but no pups in sight. Perhaps they could do with a bit of neglect!

Comments (7)

• Solar_Storm
    10 years ago

Well done. Your Jade Dwarf looks pretty good to me. I'm curious, did the plant produce any new leaves in the center of the parent rosette after you bought it? The pup will probably be a JD too, but sometimes nature surprises us and changes the "rules".

• Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6
    10 years ago

beth,
    Welcome aboard. Look thru all our post and see what we offered. I would like to see the rest of your collection. I had a huge pot full of 'Jade Dwarf Marginated'. Lost all but one. That one has two new pups sprouting. Don't know what hit me last winter but I never had anything like it before and hope not to see another. I am happy I still got one from the pot. They grow fast and full. I thinned out my reg. hahnii marginated to prevent the same from happening to them.
    Stush

• beth95
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Solar, I don't think I've noticed anything interesting happening inside the rosette. But tomorrow morning I'll take a peek. I'm glad you think it looks good, though, battle scars and all.