Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
growhappy

Are these the same plants???

GrowHappy
17 years ago

One is 'Golden Hahnii' and the other is tagged 'Gold'. They look very similar, but they are not exactly the same. The first two shots are of the one I have tagged as 'Golden Hahnii' and the 2nd two are of the one tagged 'Gold'. Do you think they are the same plant?

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (10)

• GrowHappy
    Original Author
    17 years ago

This is the 2nd shot of 'Golden Hahnii':

• GrowHappy
    Original Author
    17 years ago

This is S. Hahnii 'Gold'

• GrowHappy
    Original Author
    17 years ago

This is a 2nd shot of S. Hahnii 'Gold'

• Maryl (Okla. Zone 7a)
    17 years ago

I'm going to hazard a few possiblilities since no one has responded. Please be warned I am no sans expert by a long shot. I just bought a Golden Hahnii myself this year. Could it be that your 2nd plant is throwing up a 'sport'? Or if this is a new pup (I don't know the technical term), will it eventually change color and be like the normal Hahnii? I know that in general the variegation on varigated plants can (pardon the pun) vary a great deal on the same plant. It's pretty though. I'd try and grow it on in a separate container just to see what happens.

• norma_2006
    17 years ago

maryl you did excellant for not being an expert. I'm not an expert either, be careful of people claiming that they are. The S. hahnii are unstable, your plant may even give you an additional sport. Separate these sports and see it they will grow true on thier own. This of course is up to you, you may like the different plants together, but the sport has another name, believe it or not. I agree with you for what it is worth. When I find my San. book I will be able to give you more information. Norma

• mrbrownthumb
    17 years ago

GH,