Return to the Sansevieria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Looking for ID...

Posted by Drock none (My Page) on
Tue, Nov 27, 12 at 2:20

Hi all,
Pretty new to Sansevieria. I picked this up a week ago and was wondering if anyone can ID it.
My best guess is Sansevieria triasciata 'Futura Superba' or 'Futura Simplex'. But that is just a guess and like I said, I am new to Sans and could be way off. It may just be a young specimen and could wind up much taller than a Futura.
The largest leaf is about 12" (30cm) tall and 4" (10cm) wide.
SAM_0110
SAM_0107
SAM_0121
SAM_0119
SAM_0117
SAM_0114

One more question. I have not repotted since I acquired this and as you can see it is in some pretty inappropriate soil. Obviously I want to get it in a better medium. I have been debating between just doing it now or nursing it through the winter and repotting in the spring. Any advise?
Thank you in advance,
Derrick

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Looking for ID...

Derrick,
Welcome. You seem to be right on target for the guess. And it looks to have more of a white-ish edge than yellow. If indeed this stays this way and not an effect from light, you may just found a new cultivar. Can't say for sure.
Stush

o

Hi Derrick,

Sorry, I don't know IDs for these. But as to re-potting, I re-pot Sans all year long if they need it, I don't find these care about waiting 'til Spring.

The trick is to go easy on watering AFTER repotting. Bang the newly potted plant against the table several times, hard - it'll settle the plant in the pot & the mix w/out watering. Don't water it in like a repotted Houseplant; rather wait a week & then water, to allow any broken roots to heal over. Then wait a good 2-3 weeks before watering again. I'd also switch from the plastic pot to clay for these, they can be top heavy.

o