Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stonesriver_gw

Name That Sans

stonesriver
12 years ago

I am new to Sans (I'm an African violet/Streptocarpus kinda gal) but couldn't resist this one at Wal-Mart for $9.00! No yellow; just dark and light green with dark green edge.

Thanks for any help.

Linda

{{gwi:1259327}}

{{gwi:1259329}}

Comments (12)

• Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6
    12 years ago

Linda,
    Welcome aboard. Nice to have a new member.
    What you have is Sansevieria Trifasciata. It is the most common type Snake Plant, AKA 'Mother in Law Tongue' and probably more. This is the first sans that I owed. Watch out, it is so addicted that you will sell all you have to buy more. Leave you spouse, house , kids whatever to feed this addition. Ha Ha. I still love this plant. Never tire of it. I now own about 10 different ones now. Some here have a lot of the 70 or more other species of Sans.

{{gwi:105797}}
    click a picture and view my album free.

• stonesriver
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks, Stush. I kinda knew it was Sansevieria Trifasciata; but which one? The subtle differences escape me. African violets I can tell; sans? Not so much.

Again, thanks. Like my AVs, Streptocarpus and self-heading philodendron.... it started with one plant..... :-)

Linda

• norma_2006
    12 years ago

Linda hi.Its the orginal species. Stuch correct me if I'm wrong, and I think you may have more then most people on this forum. I have several sports of this species please explain sports to this new member. Norma

12 years ago

Norma,