Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
highjumpgirl_gw

Need advice on weird plants for Seuss garden

highjumpgirl
10 years ago

Hi, I'm a very novice gardener, especially to this Zone 8, and wondered if anyone could advise me on very dramatic or unusual plants/flowers that would grow easily here, which I can use to create a Dr. Seuss-style garden. It will be a small one, and I don't mind watering. I'm in Wilmington NC and there doesn't seem to be a great variety available here. I once saw what looked like a monkey grass at a Whole Foods store, but it had horizontal stripes. I googled that, and saw Zebra grass, but I don't think that was it... ? The giant Allium is an obvious choice....can someone help me with other ideas? Thanks!

Comments (10)

• zzackey
    10 years ago

I have no idea what a Dr. Seuss garden is. I loved his books when I was little.

• nandina
    10 years ago

Have you done a search for the general topic- what is a Dr. Seuss garden? Sit back and enjoy some fun reading and perhaps a few answers to your question.

• jcalhoun
    10 years ago

This sounds like a very interesting project.

I don't have any suggestions for plants but it would probably helpful to also add some crazy looking garden decorations also. Maybe even wierd things that wouldn't normally be in a garden.

• idixierose
    10 years ago

Farfugium comes to mind. It looks like giant dollarweed.

• Vicissitudezz
    10 years ago

A lot of Gerbera Daisies strike me as having a sort of cartoonish quality, and are easy to grow in our climate. Some of the variegated zinnias, such as the 'Candy Stripe' and 'Peppermint Stick' ones might also be fun, and easily grown from seed.

Turk's cap (a native hibiscus) and Abutilon (not native) have unusual flowers, though maybe not showy enough for what you're planning. Bat-face cuphea is well-named. Shrimp plant (Justicia brandegeeana) or Firecracker ferns (Russelia equisetiformis) are also unusual, but possibly not "out there" enough?