Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrpetunia

Amending soil for camelia

MrPetunia
21 years ago

I have very powdery sandy soil. I want to plant camelias, gardenias, silver maples, weeping willows, dogwoods, and pecan trees. I am just starting to landscape my new property. I have heard on this board to not amend the soil. But my local nursery suggested that I add peat moss to the hole. What do I do? I trust the locals, because they have the same soil conditions as I, but ...

What do you guys suggest I do to plant the above mentioned trees? I'm pretty new to botany. I grew a garden last year that did so-so, but I think will do better this year. But I've never planted trees.

THanks in advance.

Comments (7)

• aileen
    21 years ago

The weeping willpw likes moist boggy areas. It may do OK in the sandy soil but will more likely not do well. If you have a low spot, and you want to try, put a willow there.

Look around your neighborhood and see if silver maples are doing well.

Dogwoods, azaleas, gardenias and camillias should do just fine. You might want to have a soil check to see how acidic the soil is before you think about peat. It can make the soil even more acidic....(I think)

Have you thought about hydrangeas? If you are near the coast, oleanders might do well too.

• MrPetunia
    Original Author
    21 years ago

Yeah, I planted a hydrangea last year. It died. Don't know why. It started wilting a couple months after I planted it, but would perk up after I watered it heavily. But it's leaves slowly turned brown and it withered away to nothing. I did amend the soil in the hole I planted it in, with black cow. I'm just wondering if that was what caused it to die.

• ashef
    21 years ago