Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lpater_gw

Big Bed Little Bank Account

lpater
20 years ago

I have the most fabulous problem! A brand new bed about 60 feet long and 9 feet wide at its widest places. It has a curving organic shape. The soil will finished being amended tomorrow. Unfortunely, I have very little money to work with, so I was thinking...SEEDS! O.K., I have zero experience in starting seeds. I'd like to sow them directly into the bed. I'm in Valdosta, Georgia (17 miles from the Florida border)parts of the bed are in full sun. Some parts in part-shade. I will only be growing flowers or foliage plants. Don't care if they're perennials or annuals. I love blue, pink, white, purple, yellow. Any ideas, suggestions, words to the wise, hints, warnings? Thanks for any input. And yes, I have serious spring fever.

Laurie

Comments (6)

• noodeler
    20 years ago

You should get a container of that mixed flower seed at your local Lowe's or Home Depot. It comes in a big shaker type can. My neighbor used that stuff last year and it went bannanas. All kinds of color.

• lushoasis
    20 years ago

Some great reseeding annuals are cosmos, four o' clocks, and tithonia...plant California poppies in the fall. I fill my bed with perennials that multiply quickly. Cannas for sun and ginger lillies for part shade. Coreopsis, shasta daisies, and ruella multiply vegetatively. Instead of planting lots of new stuff every year, I end up weeding out the plants I don't want...enjoy...deb

• lpater
    Original Author
    20 years ago