Return to the Southeast Coastal Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pests

Posted by mlwschultz z5 ME (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 26, 05 at 11:48

How buggy is it down there (mosquitoes, gnats, etc.)? Is it bad enough to make it miserable to work in the yard? What do you do about it, if so? Are there poisonous insects/snakes? Do you see them often? What about pests that affect dogs when they are out in the yard?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pests

I am new to Coastal North Carolina, but I will tell you what I know. I have found 3 snakes in the last 2 days...all non-poisonous. They tend to hang out where the leaves have not been raked for many seasons or long grass that doesn't get mowed regularly. I'll definately be doing this regularly now that I live here! I recently asked a local native and he told me that the venomous snakes tend to not be found when there are non-venomous snakes are around for some reason. He also told me that many of the venomous snakes stay near the waterways or in storm drains and ditches. I try to use long handled rakes and tools until I get the beds cleaned out so I can see dirt. I also make sure I wear "real" shoes and not the sandles I am used to wearing in Las Vegas or in California. There seems to be a lot of bugs here, but there are ways of managing them. People spray their lawns here, make sure there is no standing water, grow certain nicotiana species and other repellant types of plants. I do notice a lot of the porches tend to be screened though. There are heartworms here and the medicine can be purchased for you pets online. I know we get ticks too, but there are plants you can grow to discourage them and again, meds to give the dogs that can be purchased at the vet or on-line. Are you thinking of moving here or are you already here? Don't let what I have said scare you off, I still think this is incredibly beatiful country and I would rather be here than anywhere else I have ever lived.

o