Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nanabutterfly

location of milkweed

nanabutterfly
19 years ago

Hi! I am new to SC and want to find locations for milkweed growing in the wild. I raise Monarch butterflies and can't find your local milkweed anywhere. I know it is in the Charleston area but I can't find any. Can anyone steer me in the right direction? Thanks, Nana butterfly

Comments (8)

• gardninlady
    19 years ago

I don't know if you are referring to asclepias, but the nurseries sell it. I have some seed of a variety that is yellow. I would be willing to send you some. Can you e-mail me?

Have you been to the Butterfly house that is at Cypress Gardens? You will love it. It is out near Moncks Corner and it is my favorite of all of the gardens...

Carolyn the Gardninlady

• nandina
    19 years ago

The only type of milkweed I have found here in the coastal areas is Asclepias tuberosa (butterfly weed). I don't believe any of the other types are happy here. It can be found for sale at local nurseries potted, but it is very difficult to transplant. Best grown from fall sown seed in a hot, dry, sunny location and never disturbed. Very late to show new growth in the spring.
    In the meantime, Monarch's are very happy laying eggs on parsley. Every nursery has these plants for sale and should meet your need for this year. I find it grows best in large pots here in the Low Country, planted in the fall in good compost. Over winters well and by this time of year the plants are tall, thick and strong. But, you still have enough time to get some reasonable growth on nursery purchased parsley plants if you plant them right away.

• BOBtheSCgardener
    19 years ago