Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gokbaser

old pecan tree- no pecans

gokbaser
18 years ago

Hello:

We moved to the US 6 years ago and bought a 105 year old bungalow in TN. First year we were surprised by very healthy pecans hundreds of them. Our tree seems very healthy -although I don't know much about them-. My MIL took a pecan back to our home country, put in water and was able to plant from that... However, last Sept we didn't get any pecans... I am worried if the tree has disease after reading the posts. Is there any way to know if we will have pecans this year? Anything I can do to a 100 year old tree? I live in Memphis, TN and we get plenty of rain, can that cause disease?

Thanks in advance...

Comments (13)

• gurley157fs
    18 years ago

I am not a pecan expert and there is a lot of very technical advice out there as to how and when to fertilize, special fertilizers for pecans, pollination - what varieties need another to pollinate and so forth.

Bottom line - even if you do all of that stuff your tree may not bear every year anyway. Some years they put out pecans and some years they don't.

I have several pecan trees. The oldest is at the front of the property, broken and disfigured, the woodpeckers have drilled holes all over it. It has moss and ferns growing all up and down the awkward lopsided limbs. Everyone keeps telling me to take it down. I just can't do it. And every two or three years it still gives the best crop of sweet tasting softshell pecans.

• jimlang
    18 years ago

My experience has been good crop followed by poor crop or no crop then good crop again. Helps to have more than one.

• lucky_p
    18 years ago

Have a look here.

Here is a link that might be useful: Pecans - timing fertilizer applications

• SeaHawk
    18 years ago

There are 2 potential answers.