Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeanni_gw

Sweet Peas: Anybody have any luck?

Jeanni
22 years ago

I tried Sweet Peas for the first time this year, but they really didn't do squat for me. Out of the ten or so that I planted (from seed), only two bloomed. They all got going great, then just kinda died off.

Does anyone have any secrets for growing these little beauties?

Jeanni

Comments (59)

• annieparker1_aol_com
    22 years ago

I have no advice or experience to offer- only hope! One of my earliest childhood memories is of going with my mother to see sweetpeas a friend had grown here in Charleston. He grew them every year and they were beautiful. That was in the early 60's so it surely wasn't anything new that helped his sweetpeas.

So at least we know it can be done!

• H2O_plantitearth_com
    22 years ago

Sweetpea does need to planted in the fall or winter here or will not amount to anything. That is the sweetpea flower!

• danbo_datasync_com
    22 years ago

Here on the Mississippi Coast I must have either stumbled on the perfect micro climate or the perfect variety of sweet peas.

I started with an older variety. Not a hybrid. Most didn't make it. Yet those I planted at the base of a trumpet vine, On the west side, next to the house. The wall it's against encloses an indoor pool, (I'm not sure if that has any thing to do with it, or not.)

Well they've been coming back for 4 or 5 springs now. Seems to reseed themselves. I'll see them coming up about september. Bloom from feb. to the first of may. Die out by the first of july.

• Jeanni
    Original Author
    22 years ago

Thanks, everyone, for your help. They are really pretty, so I think I'll try them this Fall. I'll be sure to let y'all know how they turn out.

Jeanni

• Weedwonders
    22 years ago

I had good luck planting them in September in zone 8a. Lousy luck planting them in January. Sweetpea flowers.

• pat_fragrantgarden_com
    22 years ago