Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carol_gw

Ruellia brittoniana --Mexican petunia-3to 4 ft. tall

Carol
22 years ago

Annie's post of ... What is holding up in the heat an humidity for you -- reminded me -----someone-- Not sure who- in the spring -left on my porch a Ruellia brittoniana --Mexican petunia-note said ---new to me -I am new to the South --I have way out by a back fence ... Flowering like crazy, ...I just saw it on the Texas forum under things I would never plant again in several post.

My yard has about an acre, been neglected for years hope to get a good start when it cools off. And next spring --a plan -- soil amendments, etc.,

Question is does any one have anything good to say about Mexican Petunia or should I take it out immediately, well when it cools off.- -is it to invasive ----or can you keep it under control.

Thanks

Comments (38)

• ktl6
    22 years ago

Carol, it does reseed, but it is easy to control by bending over and pulling the unwanted plant,LOL. I would recommend planting it.
    Kim

• annieparker1_aol_com
    22 years ago

It does seed/spread like crazy but is a wonderful plant-good leaf color, nice blooms. Maybe you could plant it somewhere that a massed effect would be good and just let it do its thing for a couple of years. It looks really pretty and refreshing like that.

• Lynne_nefla
    22 years ago

I have blue and pink ones, and just yank up what's getting too overgrown, no problem. LOVE them!

• glenda
    21 years ago

Does anyone in zone 7 have mexican petunia?
    I bought some while visiting in Tn. and was told it would not come back if planted in their zone, Do you think it would in zone 7 or should I bring it inside over the winter or save seeds?
    Thanks,
    Glenda

• Datawgal
    21 years ago