Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brass_tacks

?Will tomatoes come back if heavily pruned?

brass_tacks
19 years ago

The Abe Lincoln tomatoes are heavy with tomatoes. Question, as the weather cools, do I prune them and expect them to continue growing through the "winter" in coastal southern Georgia?

Thank you,

Pat

Comments (8)

• Blooming_annie
    19 years ago

Here in Charleston they wouldn't make it through the winter and I doubt they would where you are without some protection. I'm far from an expert though! Maybe someone else will chime in....

• lantanalulu
    19 years ago

Funny you should ask. I was wondering the same thing today here in Valdosta. My tomato vines are so huge and not producing so should I cut them back and hope for those BLTs in the fall?

• mannye
    19 years ago

I just did it! I cut them WAY back because they were taking over everything. At first I thought they were going to die, but now about two weeks later, the plants are coming back and new leaves and stalks are starting to form.

I just hope they survive the heat of August! We have not gotten anywhere near the usual amount of summer rain here this year, and to water everything would literally cost me hundreds of dollars!

I look at it this way; If they live, great! If not, they cost 1.99 each at HD and will be producing fruit within weeks as soon as the summer is gone!

Now I don't know what will happen if your area gets into the freezing temperatures during winter. Here we average about 60-65 degrees at night in January...

• wilmington_islander
    19 years ago

Thats what we average during the DAY, here. Tomatoes can indeed come back, but even those are killed to the ground by the first good frost and return in the spring....most do not retrun though, or at least that has been my experience and I no longer wait on them to do so....when they quit producing they are just dug up.

• brass_tacks
    Original Author
    19 years ago