Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caroline_ga

Evergreen shrubs for S. GA?

caroline_GA
20 years ago

I moved to Savannah, GA from S. Texas where I could grow Hibiscus and other colorful evergreens all year round.

As I found out in January/February, I can't do that here. Can anyone tell me what evergreen shrubs I can grow here? We have azaleas, but I would prefer some that have long flowering seasons. I like colorful foliage (for winter color), but will settle for green if necessary!

Our soil is sandy, yard has full sun to partial shade. I will need varying heights as have a long bed across the front of the house.

All ideas appreciated!

Comments (9)

• jeribelle
    20 years ago

Hi!
    I'm an Ohio transplant and now live in Savannah also! Welcome to the sunny east coast! Been here 3 years, and I'm just beginning to scratch the surface of what I need to know about gardening in coastal GA. The one plant that I am planning to cultivate more of (I have 3 in pots right now) is Camelias. There are different types, Japonica, Sassanqua (hope the spelling isn't too terrible on that one), and others. I had a Camelia on my front porch that bloomed exquisite blooms all winter for me, in the shade of the porch roof. It was stunning - is about a 6 foot standard, I guess. This year I hope to find a deal on a couple of the Sassanqua Camelias. You should be able to grow them in the partial shade, but others will have to guide you as to whether they can grow in full sun here.

I also have gardenias that tolerate most any light conditions you can throw at them. Though they are generally thought to thrive in shade, I have one in more sun than shade during the day, and it is my heaviest bloomer. They can also grow in pots. There is also a low-growing gardenia that can be used as an underplanting under larger trees and bushes, that grows well here. Their glossy green leaves are lovely all year.