Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dancingdachshunds

Conifer suggestions? Zone 8b

dancingdachshunds
19 years ago

I am starting a new bed along a side property line in the backyard, in front of a tall open-work fence. I like the idea/look of a backbone of mixed conifers/evergreens interplanted with small deciduous trees, with a mixture of evergreen and deciduous shrubs in front of that. Does anyone have any suggestions for conifers in Zone 8b? I have no experience using them. What I would like would be fast-growing, drought tolerant, 10-15 feet tall and up to 4 feet wide at maturity. The area is in full sun, dry sandy soil. Is this an impossible wish list? Thanks for suggestions. Guerry

Comments (14)

• wilmington_islander
    19 years ago

Italian cypress...although it will be taller than you want, it will probably be the only one that will be as narrow a you want.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    19 years ago

You probably know through observation that your area is not a very good one for many needle-leaf evergreens. Other than junipers, that is!!!! Your size limitations narrow it down, too!! The Italian Cypress is about the only needle leaf evergreen I can think of that will be as narrow as you wish. However, you can take a look at 'Sky Pencil' holly, a very unique fastigiate form japanese holly. Not a rapid grower, however.

• dancingdachshunds
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks for your answers! I guess using conifers exclusively is going to narrow my choices too much. I want variety and contrast in texture, color, and tree shape. I'm going to post another message asking for a wider variety of suggestions. Everybody post their favorites! ...Guerry

• CaseysMom
    19 years ago

How about this one??

Just a thought~it stays thin & the color on these are always gorgeous...

Here is a link that might be useful: Barberry

• dancingdachshunds
    Original Author
    19 years ago