Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mandolls

Potting up onion seedlings

mandolls
11 years ago

I have tried to search this but cant seem to find it mentioned. This is my first year for onions of any sort. I have started some Cabernet reds and White Lisbon bunching onions. I started 5-6 seeds per 3oz cup and they are no about 2.5" high with two leaves. I am beginning to transplant them into individual containers.

I am using 4" pots since they will be inside for another 8-10 weeks. My concern is whether I am planting them to deeply as I move them. Almost everything else that I transplant gets planted a bit deeper when I move it. I have just been reading about many people having problems because they planted their onions to deep when setting them out. Does this apply to transplanting the seedlings too? The ones I have already transplanted I set to about the depth of where the second leaf forks off, some maybe a smidge deeper.

Also - planting out - everything I read says as early as you can turn the soil. I have raised beds so they defrost fairly early, but I am in WI - can they really take a few freezes?

Any advice would be appreciated - thanks

Comments (2)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

can they really take a few freezes?

Yes, with no problems. Even more so it you mulch them. As the soil warms they will push right up through the mulch unless you use something that mats down heavily. In that case lightly pull it back from the plants as the weather warms.

In your location you should be able to transplant them to the garden mid-March (even earlier if you warm your soil) so you started them too early and will need to baby them a bit to carry them over.

Normally they are started in time to just transplant them once from germination container to garden. Try to avoid transplanting them more than once so using the 4" pots (plant them 1" deep) 'should' work for the Cabernet.