Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
japus

Heat source for seed starting

japus
11 years ago

I've been using crock pots (slow cookers ) for many years as a warming tool for epoxies, etc.
I thought why not try it for warming seed starting areas.The pic has a 4 level stand with grow lights on top.
A seed starting kit, self watering, have lettuce, spinach, kohlrabi, and broccoli in there now.
Under neath I have a smaller size crock pot,full of water, set on low with the lid off, water temp stays at 135 degrees F.
When the rack is closed temps stay at 75 degrees.
This is my very first attempt at starting seeds inside.
I just started these today, hopefully it will work.
Crock pots are great low temperature units, the base does not get overly hot with the cover off.
Now if cover is on that's another story
This is my first attempt at seed starting inside

Comments (6)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Interesting, and very different approach. :)

Since your shelves are tented (enclosed) you can accomplish a similar result by using an incandescent light fixture inside the tent. A 60 watt bulb puts out a fair amount of heat, a 100 watt bulb even more so in an enclosed area.

Still not a direct-to-the-soil heat source of course but can work.

Dave

• kurfsec
    11 years ago

I've been using my homemade rice heating pads placed underneath a baking sheet with the seeds on top of that, tented with a plastic cover, but this seems like a much better way to keep consistent heat for a longer period of time! Thanks!

• japus
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I have two 2foot grow lights hanging above the seed starter.
    Last night after I shut the lights off I noticed temps went down to low 60s.
    Apparently the lamps give enough heat to raise temperature.
    Went back up to mid 70s today after lights were back on.