Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
digdirt2

If you use peat pellets - check out this discussion

digdirt2
15 years ago

Check out this discussion currently on the Vegetable Gardening forum. Photos of the problems with peat pellets.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: For those who use peat pellets (pics)

Comments (10)

• epic_laydown
    15 years ago

thanks for that link. I'm very new to seeding and just recently started seeding with those pellets. I'll be sure to remove the netting. I felt a bit sorry for the plant being restricted like that.

• ashncarson
    15 years ago

thank you. as I am on of those "newbies", who would like to learn more.

• jusme_newby
    15 years ago

I don't use pellets, but I did get roped into buying a couple of Jiffy peat pot seed starting trays. I have used the plastic trays before and had excellent results but the Jiffy pots do not seem to allow adequate moisture control. They are always too wet or too dry. I like to bottom water by putting about 1/4 inch of water in the tray after planting my seeds and keeping it at that depth daily until I transplant the seedlings. But the little peat cells seem to suck up the water that the soil mix should be getting and I have to add more and more water to keep the mix damp. Then, all of a sudden, the soil is WET and the pots are saturated. I have to stop watering to let the moisture subside but the soil drops off before the pot and the mix stops wicking.

How do I regulate the moisture in these things? Give me back my plastic 72 cell trays and I will be happy.

• rdback
    14 years ago

Thanks for posting this link Dave.

Folks, when reading the follow-up comments in the referenced thread, please keep in mind the intent of the original post.

If you use peat pellets, I suggest you remove the netting. If you don't, the photos show what can happen.

Just that simple. I'm not recommending or condemning peat pellet use. I'm simply sharing an experience in the hopes others can learn from it.