Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organic_flutterby

Help with seedlings please!

organic_flutterby
10 years ago

I bought a jiffy greenhouse and planted some seeds on Feb 28.

Most sprouted pretty quickly so I put them under the lights. My fixture has two T8 bulbs and somewhat of a reflector. I have it about 2 inches above the tray.

I am new, this is my very first attempt at growing veggies. But I am reading a lot and hope I'm doing things right.

I know you can't tell very well from the picture, but some of these seedlings look quite leggy. What did I do wrong to make that happen? And, will these leggy plants survive and produce well?

And also, will I have to transplant these into a bigger pot before they get planted outside? When should I do that and how big a pot?

Thank you

Comments (3)

• tripleione
    10 years ago

Sounds like you did everything correctly. You didn't mention temperature, but having too hot ambient air temperatures can sometimes cause the plant to stretch out more.

Yes, your plant should survive and do fine. Being a little leggy won't necessarily hurt your plants, unless they have very few leaves and are already flopping over. Then again, some plants have a tendency to stretch and flop over no matter how intense the light. Cilantro is an example.

You will probably have to move them to a bigger pot before you plant out. Different plants grow at different rates. You'll want to move them to a bigger pot once the roots become root bound. I'm not exactly sure how to determine this... I usually just move them to bigger pots when I think they are big enough, sometimes they are root bound and sometimes they aren't. I think if a plant spends too much time being root bound in too small of a pot, it may stunt its growth permanently, but I could be wrong. The plants will generally stop growing bigger once they are root bound. That's one sign to watch for.