Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
armyeric

First try at flowers have some questions

armyeric
12 years ago

Ok I hate to over burden everybody with a lot of questions, but need some help..

First of all I am brand new to this and I have read a bunch of books to be a little clued in on the hobby.

So I have a mini green house that I have with lights and heating pads for the trays. The lights stay on 16 hrs a day and the air temp stays around 74-80. There is a good amount of humidity, and I have seeds that have started to sprout. Now I did plant random flowers in the flats and I know some will require transplanting if not all of them.

My questions are, does the greenhouse I described sound ideal as far as temp and lights and what not. Also when the seeds have sprouted is it good to just go ahead and transplant them. And once I transplant them do they all have to be hardened before transplanting outdoors.

Any help would be appreciated, I am sure being new to this I will have questions for some time to come, and appreciate everyones time and knowledge.

Comments (14)

• armyeric
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Oh also wanted to say I have found the FAQ page and love the wealth of information it provides. I can tell this site will be an absolute in my gardening.

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Hi - what size mini-greenhouse are we talking about please? There are all sorts of things called mini-greenhouse out there and it can make a big difference in giving you specific info. Can you link to a pic of it?

As general guidelines: heat is for germination only, not growing so once germinated they must come off the heat. The lights need to be no more that 2" above the plants - 1" is better. The sun this time of year is often intense enough but not enough hours for seedlings so cycle your lights according to the exposure your greenhouse has.