Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
csj50

Need help starting seeds!

csj50
9 years ago

Hi all!
I am a VERY amateur gardener ( really don't know anything) and have recently planted a few seeds using the Jiffy seed starter kit. I am overwhelmed with all the information on seed starting found on the internet! The kit and many websites state to keep the seeds covered until germination- but don't the seeds need oxygen? How are seeds successful if they are covered without any holes on the cover? Secondly, once they germinate, can I place the tray outside? (Temps here have been mid to upper 80s).

I tried starting some basil seeds a few weeks ago not using the seed starting tray, just a plastic cup. Once they germinated, I placed them outside for a few hours and they completely died (had plastic wrap covering with a few holes for ventilation). Can someone explain as to why this happened? I read that basil like sunlight. Seed starting is not as simple as I thought!

Any basic information on starting seeds are appreciated also!

Many thanks!

Comments (7)

• thewallawallaian89
    9 years ago

I use the jiffy products. You open the lid every so often and let it breathe. Or at least i do. I am however, not sure about herbs. i just think they dont like me, because no matter what I do.... they die on me. If you are moving the tray outside after germination make sure it is for short periods of time growing into full time. Just in case the shock of the temp change messes with them. Ive had crappy weather here. Fluctuates between high fiftys to lower 80s and most of my veggies have done well. But the herbs.... may they R.I.P

• cold_weather_is_evil
    9 years ago

Keep in mind that there is NO one-size-fits-all solution to seeding. It's also not voodoo. Seed starting really IS simple.

The covering thing is, I think, to keep the seeds moist, and as long as the seeds (and later the roots) can be kept moist, you don't need to cover things.