Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
panoply76

Pulp pots and more!

Panoply76
10 years ago

Hello. I am an amateur gardener trying to make it to novice gardener - these questions may seem stupid.

What is a pulp pot?

Is it a good time to grow from seeds flat leaf parsley?

I'm in my second year of butterfly/hummingbird gardening and need some suggestions. The soil here is very clay-y. This means it doesn't drain well, right? Also, might you recommend other plants that will help attract them, and feed the cats, that do well in clay-y soil? (sorry for the clumsy 'clay-y, don't have the word).

I've been told that dill is an annual, but I planted some last Fall and they're going gangbusters. I covered them during freezes (exceptionally rare in s. Louisiana anyway) and fertilized them. If I do this can I keep it an acting concern or will it die this coming winter no matter what (what i planted in Fall were quite small plants).

Thank You, Sincerely,

Jeremy & Colleen Bolan

Comments (8)

• mauch1
    10 years ago

I've had good luck with attracting butterflies with Tithonia (Mexican sunflower), but you need to plant it in groups of 3 or more (and each plant takes up a lot of space (and the plants have a strong orange,but aren't all that beautiful)). Zinnias will probably bring some b-flies as well. Both butterfly bushes (a shrub) and butterfly weed are aptly named, but I don't know if they'll grow in your area.

I rarely feed hummingbirds with feeders any more, but have found the following attracts them:
    Trumpet Vine
    Coral Honeysuckle
    Scarlet Runner vines
    Salvia (sometimes)
    Cardinal flower
    Impomopsis

I purposely brought jewelweed to my property as it is supposed to be a good hummingbird plant. It may be, but I have never seen a hummingbird approach one. It is a rampant self-seeder, and not that pretty of a plant (though the leaves are neat). The one mitigating factor is it is probably the easiest weed in the world to pull.