Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tom_a_z5il

Crispy Frills lettuce seed

TOM A Z5a-IL.
12 years ago

Has anyone saved any Crispy Frills lettuce seed? I have been looking for it for four years since my seed expired.

Comments (9)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Have you tried growing out some of your seed despite the expiration date? You will likely be pleasantly surprised since expiration dates of seeds is primarily a marketing tool, not a true indicator of seed viability.

Dave

• TOM A Z5a-IL.
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Dave-Thanks for responding. I did try as I had been growing Crispy Frills since 1999 until it stopped germinating a couple of years ago. Ocassionally during that time I saved seed myself which came true and purchased more at least one time. Now the only supplier of the seed no longer has it and I cannot find it anywhere. It was the best lettuce ever in all ways.

• remy_gw
    12 years ago

They may germinate at least at a lower rate. Lettuce seed is good for 3 years at a decent rate so it is iffy. If you get some going, leave some lettuce to go to seed and collect that seed for future growing. Lettuce seed do not readily cross so what you save will be good.
    Expiration dates however are NOT a marketing tool. They are required by law. All vegetable seeds have to be a certain germination rate to be sold, ex. tomato seeds have to have a 75% rate, peppers 60%.