Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
toybee

vegetable seeds

toybee
13 years ago

Hi everyone. I'm new to vegetable gardening and have a question that might be ovious to many of you. At the end of the season, I'd like to be able to harvest my own seeds for next year. I understand a lot of hybrid seeds are sterile or their seeds don't reproduce themselves. In order to be able to harvest my own seeds do I have to have heirloom seeds? I have some seeds I bought from a local seed company, Wyatt-Quarles, that I'm going to be planting this year. Does anyone know anything about this company? They don't claim heirlom but I'm hoping since they are a smaller company the seeds will be ok to use? Thanks!

Comments (7)

• flora_uk
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I don't think the company has much bearing on whether seeds will come true. That's a function of the type of plant you are growing. If you list the seeds you have bought we can perhaps tell you which one you can save seed from and get good results.

• toybee
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thank you! That would be great.
    What I have:
    1. Zucchini squash. no specific name.
    2. Early Jersey cabbage
    3. Dannon's carrots? I think. It's hand written on the package and the lettering is a bit smudged.
    4.Blue lake bush green bean
    5.Willow leaf pole bean
    6.Homestead tomatoes.
    There's also a straight neck squash and cabbage collards that aren't named. Thank you again for any help you can give!

• remy_gw
    13 years ago

Hi,
    You need to make sure the varieties are OP(Open Pollinated.) Some OP varieties are heirloom, but not all are. To be an heirloom, it has to be an older variety.

1. Zucchini squash. no specific name. - probably Black Beauty. It is widely available and inexpensive. It is an OP heirloom.