Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tastefullyjulie

Are my morning glory seeds viable?

tastefullyjulie
18 years ago

Hi,

I am a newbie to seed collecting and saving. I've only ever saved the seeds from my hollyhocks in the fall and that was easy. Anyway, I was doing a little spring clean up this weekend and when I started to cut down the old brown morning glory vine from last summer I noticed the little black seeds falling out of the pods. So then I got a paper bag and collected all the pods in there. I removed the seeds. Most of the pods were dry and crisp and the seeds looked good and black. Some of the pods were moist and inside those the seeds appeared moldy.

So, to make a short story long, Are the dry, black seeds still good? They definitely froze on the vine this winter a couple times.

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• magus
    18 years ago

They should still be okay. But any way you look at it, why not give them a try? They shouldn't take too long to germinate.

• Nurmey
    18 years ago

Freezing will not hurt the seeds and you may have a zillion or two plants that grow from the seeds that got away during the winter. :o)

• tastefullyjulie
    Original Author
    18 years ago

In addition to the gazillion seeds I have been harvesting :)

Thanks for the info!

• ruthieg__tx
    18 years ago

My thoughts too...If you had a morning glory vine...don't worry...this year you will have plenty that pop up ...I love Morning glory...

• deederbug
    18 years ago

OH YES!
    You grow 1 morning glory plant, and you've got'em for years in massive doses! I have them growing into established plants and whatever is climbable. They're like an infestation.